Using Legos to Teach Pointillism

This was a great lesson that got the boys really involved. I began by talking to the group about pointillism. I asked what the children thought the word might mean. I went on to talk about Georges Seurat and showing the children a picture of his painting "A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte". Next I asked the children to create a picture using lego blocks as the dots. I explained that the children would do well to plan out their picture and then look for the blocks in the colors that they needed. The lesson went really well and the children really enjoyed it. The boys in the group really got into it. The photo I have added is one boy's version of the Mona Lisa using the legos. I thought it was very creative and a hit! In the classroom you could use this idea to teach a lot of different standards. What would a pointillist version of the frog life cycle look like in legos? The parts of a flower?

Write a comment

Comments: 0